35.1 C
New Delhi
HomePoliticsChandigarh Mayor Polls: BJP beats AAP by 1 Vote.

Chandigarh Mayor Polls: BJP beats AAP by 1 Vote.

BJP's Anup Gupta has secured victory in the Chandigarh Mayor elections.

Anup Gupta of the BJP defeated Jasbir Singh of the AAP in the race for mayor of Chandigarh. The elections took place on Tuesday, BJP won by a mere single vote.

Tuesday’s mayoral elections kicked off at 11 a.m. A total of 29 votes were cast. Out of which Gupta received 15 and Jasbir Singh of the AAP received 14. For mayor, a contender needed at least 15 votes. The BJP received 15 votes, while the AAP received 14 (14 plus the ex officio vote from a member of parliament). The SAD had one vote, and the Congress had six, but both did not cast votes. The mayor has a one-year term in office.

Six Congress councilors and the lone Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) candidate in the 36-member MC General house chose not to participate in the voting process. Whilst 14 councilors from the BJP, 14 from the AAP, and an ex-official MC house member also participated.

The polls were held in the presence of Chandigarh Deputy Commissioner Vinay Pratap Singh with a sizable police presence. However, AAP questioned the presence in the House of nominated council members who did not have voting privileges prior to the vote process. DC Vinay Singh disagreed, claiming that there is no legal restriction on their ability to participate in voting in the House.

Who is Chandigarh’s new Mayor Anup Gupta?

The 38-year-old businessman Anup Gupta is running for mayor on the BJP’s side. He was originally chosen to serve as a councillor in ward 11, which includes sectors 18, 19, and 21. Anup was serving as BJP secretary and known to be close to all of the top BJP leaders in Chandigarh. Including Sanjay Tandon, Union territory BJP president Arun Sood, and Chandigarh MP Kirron Kher. Gupta was also elected deputy mayor in the most recent election. He has a law degree and also a BCom.

Sanjay Tandon, Arun Sood, Devinder Singh Babla, and former mayor Rajesh Kalia were among the BJP leaders there. Accordingly, Pardeep Chhabra, Prem Garg, and other AAP leaders were also in the public gallery to watch the elections.

For more news, click here.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular