21.8 C
New Delhi
HomeSportsIndia vs Australia WTC Final: Shubman Gill may face match referee's ire...

India vs Australia WTC Final: Shubman Gill may face match referee’s ire over tweet

Due to his tweet criticising the third umpire after his questionable dismissal in the second innings of the India vs Australia WTC final, Shubman Gill may run into trouble with the match referee.

Gill, who was ruled to have been caught by Cameron Green diving to his left at gully on Day 4 15 minutes after stumps, questioned the third umpire’s ruling on social media. The player tweeted a photo of Green making the catch and added two magnifying glass emojis and a face-palm emoji to the caption.

The ICC’s code of conduct establishes in clause 2.7 that social media posts made by players or staff members fall under the definition of a code violation.

Controversy in India vs Australia final:

When Green was informed of Gill’s tweet and questioned if he had truly taken the catch cleanly, the all-rounder responded that he was certain that he had.

“I was certain that I had it. The third umpire was consulted, and he agreed.

The event created a tense environment at the Oval.

Also read, International referee speaks: ‘I saw Brij Bhushan standing next to her, she freed herself… something wrong happened to her’

Rohit Sharma joins the discussion:

Rohit Sharma joined to the discussion around the contentious Shubman Gill catch by claiming that the third umpire should have watched more replays because “WE HAVE MORE CAMERAS IN IPL THAN IN WTC FINAL.”

He saw it three or four times and was persuaded. Quickly, a decision was made. Because it’s a final and we were at that crucial part of the game, you need to be more than 100% certain when a catch like that is made.

He also expressed concern about the dearth of camera angles. “Only one or two different camera perspectives were displayed. Ten views are available in IPL. I’m not sure why there wasn’t any ultramotion or magnified imagery at such a significant global event.

Code of Conduct being violated or not, both Gill and Rohit Sharma have made valid points. From the looks of it, the catch does not seem valid. It was the India vs Australia WTC Final and the umpire did make a very hasty decision. The umpire was also easily impressed by the Australian player and no further checking of the catch was done.

For more sports news, click here.

RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular