HomeNewsCongress's K Suresh To Be Temporary Speaker Till Government's Decision

Congress’s K Suresh To Be Temporary Speaker Till Government’s Decision

K Suresh of Congress will be named the pro tem speaker and administer the oath of office to MPs till a formal decision on the Speaker’s post is taken by the government when the 18th parliament is convened, sources have said.

Who is K Suresh?

The 68-year-old MP from Kerala’s Mavelikara, Mr Suresh, is the longest-serving member of parliament. At the Rashtrapati Bhavan, he will be administered the oath of office by President Droupadi Murmu before parliament is convened on June 24.

In turn, he will administer the oath to the Prime Minister’s Council of Ministers and other MPs.

The government is likely to name the Speaker of the Lok Sabha on June 26, sources have told NDTV.

Also read | Delhi Man Shot Dead On Jammu Bus Was Trying To Warn Others Of Terror Attack

Including that of Om Birla, who was the Speaker in the last term, several names are doing the rounds, including Bhatruhari Mahtab and D Purandeshwari — leaders from the two states that top the BJP’s ‘thank you list’.

Mr Mahtab is a key Odisha leader who joined the BJP from Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal. Ms Purandeshwari is the chief of the party’s Andhra Pradesh unit.

On June 26, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will move the motion in the name of the Speaker, sources said. He would introduce his Council of Ministers to the House after the motion is accepted.

For more latest news, click here.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments